Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Lannemezan Hospital

Few know what is happening behind the walls of a mental hospital. How is insanity treated? What is the risk to patients and medical staff? In what kind of buildings are these people housed?

Problem to solve

How do you design a functional building that enables staff to make the most of its activities while still keeping an eye on patients? How do you provide a secure and pleasant living environment for them?

Solution

We accompanied the architects giving them the an idea of how the building will be used by the residents. While the contractors provide technical specifications to the architects, we provide them with the human specifications and flow charts so that once developed, the building best serves those who use it.

How we did it

We spent several days with those who will live in the new building. During this time, we observed and interviewed caregivers and patients in order to understand their material, organizational and spatial needs.

Example

We resized a room originally designed for two people (one nurse and a patient). After going over the architectural plans with the users, we concluded that this room would be better utilized for changing of shifts between the morning and afternoon staff (about 15 people). It was based on a proposed plan to monitor patients while working. Without our intervention, the shift changing area would not have been identified and 15 people would have had to use a space made for two.

 

N.B. : we collaborated with Argenty Ergonomie on this project.

 

 

 

 

CATEGORY

Space Design / User Research

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

HÔPITAL DE LANNEMEZAN

Peu savent ce qui se passe derrière les murs des hôpitaux psychiatriques. Comment travaille le personnel soignant ? Que font les patients ? Quels sont les bâtiments dans lesquels ces personnes évoluent ?

Problème à résoudre

Comment concevoir un bâtiment fonctionnel qui permette au personnel d’effectuer au mieux ses activités tout en gardant toujours un œil sur les patients ? Comment fournir un cadre de vie sécurisé et agréable à ces personnes ?

Solutions apportées

Nous avons accompagné la Maîtrise d’Ouvrage en lui donnant les éléments de la vie future du bâtiment. Alors que le Bureau d’Etude donne les contraintes techniques à l’architecte, nous lui fournissons les contraintes humaines et définissions les flux afin qu’une fois conçu, le bâtiment serve au mieux ceux qui l’utilisent.

 

 

 

Comment y est-on parvenu ?

Nous avons passé du temps auprès de ceux qui évolueront au quotidien dans l’enceinte du futur bâtiment. Au cours de ces journées, nous avons observé et interrogé le personnel soignant et les patients pour comprendre leurs besoins, matériels, organisationnels et spatiaux.

Un exemple

Nous avons redimensionné une salle à l’origine destinée à 2 personnes (un infirmier et un patient). Cette salle allait être utilisée pour les relèves de postes entre le personnel du matin et celui de l’après-midi (environ 15 personnes) car elle était positionnée sur les plans à l’endroit idéal pour surveiller les patients tout en travaillant. Sans notre intervention, l’étape de relève de poste n’aurait pas été identifiée et 15 personnes se seraient retrouvées à faire des réunions dans un bureau pour 2.

 

N.B. : cette mission a été réalisée en collaboration avec Argenty Ergonomie.

 

 

CATÉGORIE

Design d’espace / Recherche utilisateurs